The City’s stone walls and bridges are iconic structures unique to the character of Manitou Springs. William Frizzell, a local stonemason responsible for many of the walls and bridges along Ruxton Avenue and who worked with the City’s premier builders, the Gillis Brothers, lived just east of Church Street at 214 Ruxton Avenue (very close to the Brook Street Bridge). The photo to the left shows a young woman sitting on the Brook Street Bridge with the Red Mountain Incline in the background. Based on the pictures, the Brook Street Bridge dates to ca. 1905. This bridge is unique even among the City’s numerous examples of stone arch bridge construction, in that it was built using a different stone than the other, primarily greenstone, bridges throughout the community. Maybe Mr. Frizzell wanted something different so close to home!